Skip to main content

Innovation Awards honor College of Media faculty

WVU’s second annual Innovation Awards

The WVU Reed College of Media is constantly striving to innovate through groundbreaking ideas and new media technology. Last night, three faculty members were recognized for their contributions at WVU’s second annual Innovation Awards. The awards honor innovation and impact on society through commercialization of ideas.

Assistant Professor Dana Coester was honored with the award for Established Career Innovator. Coester is creative director for the Alexis and Jim Pugh Media Innovation Lab and has been instrumental in cultivating the culture and practice of innovation across campus.

She helped design the lab in Martin Hall, an open, flexible environment that provides access to the latest media technology and fosters creativity, ideation and product development. It serves as an incubator for new-media applications, platforms and strategies. She also drafted an Innovator-in-Residence program designed to foster a co-innovation culture between students, industry and community.

Coester also leads Mobile Main Street, the first technology-transfer project undertaken by the College of Media. The open-source publishing platform engages small organizations, businesses and media in mobile app development and marketing to help fuel economic development in local communities.

Assistant Professor Bob Britten and Teaching Assistant Professor Elizabeth Oppe were also both nominated for Early Career Innovator Award.

Read more.