High School Journalism Competition

About the High School Journalism Competition & Workshops

Check out past winners >>

High School Journalism Competition Each spring, the WVU Reed College of Media hosts the West Virginia University High School Journalism Competition & Workshops, bringing more than 100 high school students from across the state and region to the Morgantown, W.Va., campus for an interactive, hands-on journalism experience.

Co-sponsored by the West Virginia Press Association, this annual event is designed to provide both students and teachers professional skills to enhance their own programs and projects.

Participation in this event is completely free of charge. Participants may choose to submit entries in the competition, enroll in the workshops or both.

This year’s High School Journalism Competition awards dinner and one-day workshops are scheduled for Friday, April 11, 2014. Mark your calendar now!

Interested participants must complete the online Pre-registration Form to receive more information about this opportunity. Just click the “Register Now” button. The form must be completed and submitted by Monday, Jan. 6, 2014, to participate in this year’s event. While completing this form does not commit you to participate in the competition or workshops, it does guarantee that you will receive future communications.

What Is the Competition?

The competitive portion of this annual event is designed to provide high school students the opportunity to put their journalistic skills to the test. Students compete in advertising, broadcast news, critical review writing, opinion (editorial) writing, feature layout and design (yearbook), feature writing, newspaper layout and design, news writing, photojournalism, public relations and sports writing.

This single round of competition is judged by our award-winning and nationally recognized faculty. Submission deadline is Friday, Feb. 21, 2014.

Additional information regarding the competition will be sent to those who register through the Preliminary Entry Form.

Winners from the competition will be recognized at the awards dinner following the workshops on Friday, April 11, 2014.

What Are the Workshops?

The WVU Reed College of Media hosts the workshop portion of the event on WVU’s Downtown Campus in Morgantown, W.Va., on Friday, April 11, 2014. The one-day workshops allow participants to:

  • Work one-on-one with nationally recognized and award-winning faculty and communications professionals.
  • Gain practical experience that can be applied to their high school newspapers, yearbooks or broadcasts.
  • Learn innovative practices, share meaningful experiences and develop new relationships with faculty, media professionals and other student journalists.
  • Add to their resumes or college portfolios.
  • Visit the WVU college radio station and college newspaper.
  • Experience life on the campus of a major university.

Available student and teacher workshops may include:

  • Advertising
  • Blogging, Twitter and Other Forms of Social Media
  • Broadcast News
  • Feature Layout & Design (Yearbook)
  • Feature Reporting & Writing
  • Final Cut Pro Digital Video Editing
  • Newspaper Layout & Design
  • News Reporting & Writing
  • Opinion (Editorial) Writing
  • Photojournalism
  • Public Relations
  • Sports Writing

The workshops are open to all high school students and teachers, regardless of the competition results. However, because of limited space in the classrooms, workshop enrollment will be handled on a first-come, first-served basis. 

Additional information regarding the workshops will be sent to those who register through the Preliminary Entry Form.

What Is the Awards Dinner?

On the evening of Friday, April 11, 2014, winners from the competition round will be recognized at an awards dinner following the workshops. All competition winners and workshop participants are invited to attend. The dinner is free for all participants.

Additional information regarding the dinner will be sent to those who register through the Preliminary Entry Form.

What Can You Do to Prepare?

Mark your calendar. Encourage your students to participate. And register today.

Those who register online will receive an information booklet in December with additional details about the competition and workshops and specific directions on submitting entries.

For more information about the High School Journalism Competition & Workshops, please email PIReed@mail.wvu.edu.

Winners from 2014


  • First: Jonathon Griffith, Bridgeport
  • Second: Lisa Lichty, Rockwood
  • Third: Christian Kreamer, Annville-Cleona

Broadcast (Division I)

  • First: Miko Reyes, Greater Latrobe
  • Second: Dillon Berry, Greater Latrobe
  • Third: Andrew Braun, Hurricane

Broadcast (Division II)

  • First: Zack Southall, Annville-Cleona
  • Second: Ryan Sprouse, Bridgeport
  • Third: Tristan Quenones, Bridgeport

Critical Review (Division I)

  • First: Emily Daily, Greater Latrobe
  • Second: Veronica Clements, Middletown
  • Third: Kenzie DuMars, Middletown

Critical Review (Division II)

  • First:Morgan Dyer,Annville-Cleona
  • Second: Carol Desper, Braxton County
  • Third: Jeff McCullough, Bridgeport

Feature Layout and Design

  • First: Tre Trecost, Bridgeport
  • Second: Sam Soliday, Annville-Cleona
  • Third: Andrea Cooper, Bridgeport

Feature Writing (Division I)

  • First: Olivia Gallaway, Middletown
  • Second: Eva Howden, Hurricane
  • Third: Emily Daily, Greater Latrobe

Feature Writing (Division II)

  • First: Maggie Lohmon, Bridgeport
  • Second: Maddie Dietz, Annville-Cleona
  • Third: Elizabeth Six, Braxton County

News Writing (Division I)

  • First: Emily Cross, Middletown
  • Second: Anna Ramsey, Middletown
  • Third: Rebecca Holcomb, Middletown

News Writing (Division II)

  • First: Kirsten Gateless, Braxton County
  • Second: Abby Malloy, Annville-Cleona
  • Third: Montana Carr, Braxton County

Opinion Writing (Division I)

  • First: Sarah Weise, Greater Latrobe
  • Second: Madison Milhous, Middletown
  • Third: Anna Ramsey, Middletown

Opinion Writing (Division II)

  • First: Mackenna Boone, Braxton County
  • Second: Jacob Snavely, Annville-Cleona
  • Third: Shellie Coleman, Braxton County


  • First: Andrea Cooper, Bridgeport
  • Second: Claire Marnic, Bridgeport
  • Third: Hannah Duffield, Braxton County

Public Relations

  • First: Rebecca Turnbull, Bridgeport
  • Second: Alaina Shreves, Bridgeport
  • Third: Alex Mitchell, Rockwood

Sports Writing (Division I)

  • First: Johny Saunders, Greater Latrobe
  • Second: Ben Spector, Middletown
  • Third: Dylan O’Toole, Middletown

Sports Writing (Division II)

  • First: Zack Southall, Annville-Cleona
  • Second: Ryan Sprouse, Bridgeport
  • Third: Geordan Barr, Annville-Cleona

Past Winners