Golden Quill Awards

College of Media Golden Quill Teaching Awards

Each year, the WVU Reed College of Media provides students with an opportunity to vote for outstanding two faculty members to receive the College’s Golden Quill Teaching Award.

Based solely on student nominations, the Golden Quill Teaching Awards recognizes, outstanding teaching, mentoring, and advising in the WVU Reed College of Media. Two awards are given each year. One award is given to a full-time faculty and/or visiting professors, and one award goes to an instructor who has taught for at least three consecutive semesters.

The College’s IMC graduate program also honors one instructor annually who serves as an effective and inspiring educator, adviser, and mentor in the program’s online environment. In 2011, that award became known as the Alexia Vanides IMC Teaching Award, dedicated to the program’s first recipient, Alexia Vanides, who passed away in 2011.

2012 Award Recipients

  • Jim Ebel

    Golden Quill Faculty Award

    James Ebel
    Visiting Assistant Professor, Harrison/Omnicom Professor in Integrated Marketing Communications

    Teaches copy writing and healthcare marketing communications

  • Angela Lindley

    Golden Quill Instructor Award

    Angela Lindley

    Teaches media writing and public relations courses

  • Cummings

    Alexia Vanides IMC Teaching Award

    Matthew Cummings

    Teaches Introduction to IMC

  • Freberg

    Alexia Vanides IMC Teaching Award

    Karen Freberg

    Teaches PR Concepts and Strategy

2011 Award Recipients

  • Jensen Moore

    Golden Quill Faculty Award

    Jensen Moore
    Assistant Professor

  • Cathy Bonnstetter

    Golden Quill Instructor Award

    Cathy Bonnstetter
    Stringer for The State Journal

    Teaches media writing

  • Susan Jones, M.S.J.

    Alexia Vanides IMC Teaching Award

    Susan Jones

    Teaches Direct Marketing

2010 Award Recipients

  • Sara Magee

    Golden Quill Faculty Award

    Sara Magee
    Assistant Professor

    Teaches television news reporting and writing and media ethics

  • Rick Bebout

    Golden Quill Instructor Award

    Rick Bebout
    Technology Coordinator, IMC Program

    Teaches web design and mass communication courses

  • Larry Stultz

    Alexia Vanides IMC Teaching Award

    Larry Stultz
    Technology Coordinator, IMC Program

    Teaches Creative Strategy and Execution; Advanced Creative Concepts

2009 Award Recipients

  • Dr. George Esper

    Golden Quill Faculty Award

    George Esper
    Professor, Ogden Newspapers Visiting Professor in Journalism

    Teaches journalism history, feature writing and history of war correspondence

  • Jan Lauren Boyles

    Golden Quill Instructor Award

    Jan Lauren Boyles
    Director of Advising

    Organizes recruitment and retention efforts, conducts enrollment research and advises undergraduates

  • Alexia Vanides

    Golden Quill Online Instructor Award

    Alexia Vanides